The Foundation is headed by a Board whose members have a longstanding reputation in meteorology. The board of the Harry Otten Foundation is also the jury of the Harry Otten Prize.

Richard Anthes

Chairman Dr. Richard Anthes is President Emeritus of UCAR, the University Cooperation for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado. His career includes experience at NOAA, Penn State University and UCAR. He has won several prestigious awards, including the AMS Jule Charney Award and the Chinese Friendship Award, the highest award China makes to foreigners. Rick has also been awarded Honorary Membership of the AMS.

Dennis Schulze

Vice Chairman Dennis Schulze is working for MeteoGroup since 1994 and is currently employed as Chief Meteorology Officer. In this function he is responsible for research & development projects within MeteoGroup and also for the service delivered through the Weather Rooms MeteoGroup operates world-wide.

Dominique Marbouty

Dominique Marbouty is currently a member of the audit body of the French ministry of Environnement and was the President of the European Meteorological Society (EMS). He had a long career in meteorology that included being Director-General of the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) and deputy director general of Météo-France, the French national weather service.

Tanja Cegnar

Tanja Cegnar works for the Slovenian Environment Agency, which also includes the Slovenian Meteorological Office. Her main speciality is human biometeorology. She is the chief editor of the agency's Monthly bulletin and web site, and presents weather at the national television station in Slovenia. For many years she has coordinated the activities of the Media team under the umbrella of the European Meteorological Society.

Leo Kroon

Dr. Leo Kroon joins the board from 1 June 2014 onwards. He is Lecturer in Meteorology at Wageningen University.  He has been active in the Dutch Meteorological Society and recently as Chief Editor of Meteorologica.  

David Burridge

In 1975 David Burridge joined the newly established "European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts" (ECMWF). He spent most of his professional career at ECMWF (1975 to 2004) and in January 1991 he was appointed to the position of Director and Chief Executive of ECMWF.  During his time at ECMWF, he was the Director for more than 13 years, he led the research programme for eight years and prior to this he designed and built the first ECMWF global forecasting model. He has been a fellow of the Royal Meteorological Society (RMS) since 1970 and served on its Council between 1975 and 1978. He was elected President of the RMS for 2000 to 2002. He served on the governing Council of the European Meteorological Society (EMS) and was the President of the EMS for the three-year period 2005 to 2008 and during this period revised the society’s organisational structure and implemented a new strategy. Currently, David is a full member the UK Met Office Board.