Harry Otten Foundation: Activity Report 2024

22 December 2024

Activities in 2024:

After awarding the Harry Otten Prize for the sixth time in 2023, the year 2024 was primarily used for preparing for the next round of the award that will finish in September 2025. The foundation executed a number of advertisement campaigns to attract applications for the 2025 Harry Otten Prize.

The 2024 EMS Annual Meeting took place 2-6 September 2024 at the University of Barcelona, Spain. Following the usual practice in non-award years, Gert-Jan Steeneveld, as HOF Chair, presented a poster at the entrance of the conference venue. This was primarily to announce that our next HOP competition, for 2025, would open for proposals on September 15, 2024, just after completion of this meeting. We also noted that we were pleased to be an ongoing sponsor of the EMS Annual Meetings. The HOF sponsored the coffee break on Tuesday morning.

The board installed two new board members in 2024: On 1 Jan 2024 Jean-Noël Thépaut (Copernicus/ECMWF; France) and Sue Ellen Haupt (NCAR; USA) joined the board. They replace Olivier Boucher and Pam Emch (former chair) of whom the terms ended 31 December 2023. We send letters to both of them to thank them for their activities in the board the past 6 years. Since 1 Jan 2024 Gert-Jan Steeneveld acts a chair of the HOP foundation.

The Harry Otten Prize website was transferred from the old TYPO3 platform that was subject to security issues to the wordpress.com platform. In addition, the board decided to change the housestyle since the current one is present for 15 years. Therefore offers from designers were collected and the board decided to offer Studio Scientist the task to design a new housestyle that will become effective by 1 Sept 2025 (the awarding of the HOP).

The following formal HOF Board Meetings were held:

Video telecons: 3 April 2024, 2 July 2024, 14 October 2024

The following persons acted as board members during 2024: Gert-Jan Steeneveld (Chair), Dennis Schulze (Treasurer), Samira Khodayar Pardo, Jean-Noël Thépaut, Sue Ellen Haupt.

All board members and HOF Secretary Andrea Oestreich participated in the board meetings (except from 14 October 2024).