H.O. Foundation: Activity Report 2019

9 March 2020

Activities in 2019:

The Harry Otten Prize was awarded for the fourth time in 2019. The winners were Malcolm Kitchen and Chris Brunt. Their idea, *A New Method of Measuring Atmospheric Refractivity*, is to obtain information of the lower atmosphere by measuring the bending of radio signals broadcast by commercial aircraft.

For this prize round, the Foundation received a total of 7 applications from several European countries the USA and Russia. Five applications were selected for the second round. From these remaining five proposals, three were selected for the final round in Copenhagen. After the oral presentation of the proposals the jury decided that 'A New Method of Measuring Atmospheric Refractivity' (authors: Malcolm Kitchen and Chris Brunt) was the best idea. The other proposals were 'enLIGHT – A new way to communicate high definition weather data about the incoming weather hazards to citizens ' (authors: Yann Dufournet, Igor Stepanov, and Geanny Amos dos Santos) and 'VineForecast – A tool to generate individual predictions of vine diseases and phenology' (author: Paul Petersik). During the award ceremonies at the Annual Meeting of the European Meteorological Society (EMS), held in Copenhagen, Denmark, 9-13 September 2019, Malcolm Kitchen and Chris Brunt were presented as winners of the Harry Otten Prize 2019.

The following formal meetings were held:

Telephone Conferences: 8 April 2019

20 June 2019

Board Meetings: 9 and 10 September 2019 in Copenhagen

Tanja Cegnar retired from the Board on 31 December 2019 in accordance with the Board rotation schedule. We are looking for a new female Board member from the public sector and preferably from Southern Europe, South America or Africa. Dennis Schulze will be appointed as treasurer on 1 January 2020, he will be the successor of David Burridge who, due to personal circumstances, will prematurely leave the Board in the spring of 2020.

We are currently in the process of establishing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the Harry Otten Foundation and the European Meteorological Society (EMS). The purpose of the MoU is to formalise the procedure of having the Harry Otten Prize presentations and award ceremony as part of the EMS Annual Meeting once every two years. A final version is expected to be agreed upon in March 2020 after discussing the proposed version in the EMS board meeting.

The following persons acted as board members:

Leo Kroon (Chairman) David Burridge (Treasurer) Tanja Cegnar Pamela Emch Olivier Boucher

All board members participated in the telephone conferences. David Burridge was absent during the September Board meetings, but feedback from him on the proposed award winners was received and taken into account.