H.O. Foundation: Activity Report 2017

Activities in 2017:

The Harry Otten Prize was awarded for the third time in 2017. The winner was Lee Chapman. His idea is to use the "Internet of Things" with low-cost sensors to monitor the weather on a very dense network to improve short-range forecasting.

For this prize round, the Foundation received a total of 12 applications from six European countries, Armenia and the USA. Five applications were selected for the second round. From these remaining five proposals, three were selected for the final round in Dublin. After the oral presentation of the proposals the jury decided that 'High-Resolution Monitoring of Weather Impacts on Infrastructure Networks' (author: Lee Chapman) was the best idea. The other proposals were 'Making use of errors in consumer weather data to derive advanced weather parameters' (author: Tom de Ruijter) and 'CrowDat@ssimilation: Assimilation of crowdsourced meteorological data in NWP models to improve small-scale weather forecasts' (authors: Gert-Jan Steeneveld and Sytse Koopmans). During the award ceremonies at the Annual Meeting of the European Meteorological Society (EMS), held in Dublin, Ireland, 5 September 2017, Lee Chapman was presented as winner of the Harry Otten Prize 2017.

The following formal meetings were held:

Board Meetings:	4 and 5 September 2017 in Dublin
Telephone Conferences:	27 March 2017 5 June 2017

David Burridge was appointed as a new Board member. His appointment became effective 1 January 2017. Three Board members retired from the Board per 31 December 2017 in accordance with the Board rotation schedule: Richard Anthes, Dominique Marbouty and Dennis Schulze. Leo Kroon will be the Chairman of the Board per 1 January 2018. Two new Board members were selected and were appointed per 1 January 2018: Olivier Boucher (France) and Pamela Emch (USA). Dennis Schulze will still take care of all finances, using a proxy to the bank, until David Burridge will take over all responsibilities as Treasurer.

The following persons acted as board members:

Richard Anthes (Chairman) Dennis Schulze (Vice-Chairman and Treasurer) Dominique Marbouty Tanja Cegnar Leo Kroon David Burridge

All board members participated in the board meetings telephone conferences.